We are Migrating to ContactBook New Version...
This version of Contactbook will be unavailable soon.
The Current version of ContactBook uses Google’s Contacts API which is deprecated and is scheduled for shutdown on June 15, 2021.
Read more: Contact API Migration
ContactBook works with Google Contacts(using Google’s APIs) to share and sync contacts with your G Suite users and Gmail users. In order to continue our services, we will have to shift to the new People API.
We have been working on a new version of ContactBook to make it better and fast for all our customers using the new API from Google.
It will be available to all of our existing as well as new users very soon!
The previous version of ContactBook was developed over years of developments and iterations. Since we can only do as much as we can to support the new Google APIs, we are releasing this version with limited features. We will keep on adding more features in our upcoming releases.
What to expect in the new version
- Contact sharing in the same domain
- Contact Sharing from a domain to Gmail accounts
- Non-admin G Suite Users can share contacts
- Extended activity logs (You can see the progress of your sharing and any issues that may occur while sharing will be visible so you can correct them!)
- Failure Email notifications (Sometimes we get errors from Google APIs which stops certain actions from happening. For example, Label creation failed. You will get notified via email in that case so you are aware of that situation and can perform necessary actions like sharing the label again with the user)
- Support of new Contacts API (compatible with Google Contacts)
- Only sync the modifications in contacts/labels (Once you are fully onboard, contacts syncing will be much faster)
- All details of your contacts (notes, multiple numbers, emails, etc.) from Google Contacts, will be shared.
- Stable and fast (less possibility of issues)
What will not be available currently
- Permission management
- You won’t be able to give permission to EDIT contacts to shared users. So, shared users will not be able to manage (create, edit, delete) Labels and Contacts which are shared with them.
- Contact Management from ContactBook web interface
- You won’t be able to create and manage Labels and Contacts (create, edit, delete) from ContactBook Interface(web admin)
What changes for existing users
You would have shared contacts with other G Suite and Gmail users in the old version, after migrating to the new version you will have to share labels again. If you need, we will provide you the list of labels and users as per the previous version. In order to avoid duplicate contacts,
Support of permission is not available in this version so you will not be able to give EDIT access to the users while sharing labels.
Automatic sync(once a day autosync) is still in active development and will be available soon. So you will have to SYNC manually by pressing the button in the ContactBook web interface.
Feel free to reach out to us if you have any concerns with the change.